you're reading...

New York Islanders Revive History With ’13 Playoff Berth

New York ties the 7-game series 2-2

Casey Cizikas scores to ice Game 4.

The NHL’s New York Islanders are the last North American, professional sports franchise to capture four straight league championships. From 1980-83, the team won its only four Stanley Cups. In addition to the titles, the team earned a playoff spot each season from 1975-88, a franchise record.

Since the ’88 season, New York had trouble maintaining its status as one of the league’s elite organizations. Since that run ended, the team has a total of seven playoff appearances, including 2013.

Before earning a victory over the Pittsburgh Penguins in game 4 of the 2013 opening round series, New York had gone 11 years without a playoff win on home ice. In front of a sold out crowd at Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum, Islander fans saw their team knock-off the top-seeded Pens 6-4 and tie the 7-game series 2-2.

Timetoast outline of Isles history

The New York Islanders won 4 straight championships from 1980-1983.


About markprussin

Student a Hofstra University. Journalism major, hoping to become professional sports broadcaster. Station member at 88.7 FM WRHU, producer of Top Post (D-I Men's Lacrosse show on WRHU).


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Follow on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Blog Stats

  • 875 hits
%d bloggers like this: